*NO* Castlevania 2 'Bloodshot Dawn'

Liontamer

Hey guys,

Game: Castlevania II

Track: Bloody Tears

Remix Title: Bloodshot Dawn

After more than a year of trying to self teach myself the program, I think I am happy with this track and have decided to try my hand at submission. I like to spend the free time I have toying around with music composition and this song just seemed to want to have the Bloody Tears theme in it. It just seemed to fit. I have limited mixing/mastering knowledge, so I tried to fix the levels beforehand. I hope you enjoy the results!

Thanks!

The Green Tentacle

Nathan Froehlich

aarekmg@gmail.com

(n00b)

-------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.zophar.net/nsf/castle~1.zip - Track 2 ("Bloody Tears")

The deep sound in the intro seemed like it was leaving a slight distortion trail; kind of hard to describe, but maybe another J can better isolate the issue. The textures were on the cluttered/imbalanced side.

The rim hits starting at :35 were too dry and upfront compared to the other sounds, IMO. The organ style stuff was OK, but droned and otherwise didn't really grab my attention. The countermelody to the source positioned in the foreground did grab my attention from 1:04-1:35 though.

1:35-on went into pretty liberal territory, with the source tune taking a back seat, before returning to it at 2:07.

The energy level at 2:07 was pretty underwhelming. The drums could have been a lot more progressive to drive things forward, plus the soundscape was still pretty cluttered.

Once the drums dropped out at 2:53, the track felt very empty/hollow despite everything else going on and the various effects on things.