Sprout Procession (Sprout Tower)

SLyGeN

So, I've been composing stuff for a few months now after taking a couple of theory courses, and have received generally positive reviews from musicians and non-musicians alike.

Where I feel I'm lacking is the processing part of the production. Putting shit on paper is easy for me, but I'm a novice when it comes to DAW's. I'm using Reaper right now.

After finding some cheap/free gems online, I think I've finally got something approaching OCR standards.

So, here's my Sprout Procession. This place needs some more Pokémon remixes, and it'd be sweet to see my name up there.

I think the composition is pretty solid, although I'm open to suggestions.

The most useful comments for me will be suggestions on making it sound cleaner (explained to me in basic terms), and suggestions of different VSTi's to use.

edit: oh yeah. Here's the source.

Post the source please - it'll help us critique it better.

The first thing I notice is the counterpoint... I'll be frank, it really ruins the song, for me. Nothing moves smoothly - the frequent use of parallel fifths and such throughout make the song sound clunky as a whole. I'm writing a guide on counterpoint (probably won't be finished for another week or two) so I recommend keeping an eye out for that. If you want a piece of the guide that specifically refers to the glaring problem I'm refering to PM me - I'd be glad to help with it. I can't help pointing these things out - I'm a counterpoint stickler :-o.

Onto the production issues...

Alright, the instrument choice is too homogeneous. Nothing sticks out to me as the melody or harmonies - it all sounds like a wall of sound, to me. Not knowing the source shouldn't affect my listening to this as a piece of music - the instrument choice is inherently flawed.