How metal is this?

I can answer that question for you, but I though it'd be an attractive enough title. :P

Still on my journey working on more energetic, ballsy genres to increase the value of my music. For the last month or so, off and on, I've been trying to work on a fake Metal template with (and I know you're going to hiss at me but I don't care) EastWest Ministry of Rock. I'm not very good at mixing distorted guitars, so this is what I have now:

http://tindeck.com/listen/rabk - First Version

http://tindeck.com/listen/ejms - Newer version. Added another guitar.

Both are unmastered.

The actual context I'm working on is not trying to do full, straight-up, extremely hard-to-tell-it's-not-real metal. What I'm actually trying to build here is a decent enough metal foundation to build upon. I'm more interested in making sure the guitars, bass, drums and organ sound good enough to use for synth rock, prog sounding stuff, harder electronica, orchestral rock, etc. I'm not really trying to fool anyone into thinking I did this in a studio with a full studio team, I'm just trying to get a solid foundation for tracks people will like.

An example might help:

. This is what inspired me to build this. Not amazing, super realistic metal, but a good, energetic track that's pretty popular. Except for the lead guitar, this is the kinda quality level I'm shooting for for remixes and other work.

I hope I'm being specific enough there. :P. What do you think? What could I reasonably fix to make it more palatable for general listeners and to do melodic synth work on top of?