"Boss in a Music Box" FF9 Boss Battle remix

DarkDjinn

Kind of a symphonic remix of the Final Fantasy 9 boss battle theme. This is part of a larger remix that I'm doing in two parts with the intention of putting them together later, and features a music box. This is the kind of introduction to the whole thing and it's my first attempt at using nothing but software instruments - I usually like to let my compositions be supported by my guitar playing but I'm determined not to do that this time.

I would appreciate any comments, mostly regarding tips to make software instruments sound more realistic. Almost the entire thing was made with Miroslav Philharmonik, and a couple of tracks were done with SampleTank.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/v8es1uhsw2xc0vj/FF9%20Boss%20Music%20Box.mp3

• 2 weeks later...

Bumping this since I got no comments.

I'm really looking to improve my use of software instruments. Usually my tunes are carried by my guitar playing but I want to be able to complete a song without putting a guitar in it.

Philharmonik doesn't seem to be an EXTREMELY good VST. I hope to get East West Hollywood (insert orchestral section here) but I really want to get more practice with what I have before I drop a couple grand on software.

Not talking production values really, but does anyone have any pointers on how to make software instruments sound more realistic?

I really like how the music box sounds. :)

I've never done orchestral stuff, and I know nothing about the merits of different orchestra VSTs, but I would guess you can probably get a lot more realistic sound through better sequencing - so don't shell out that cash just yet.. I hope you get some feedback with actual relevant experience behind it. You could try to PM ReMixers who do orchestral stuff for tips!

--Eino