Xbox and external storage question

Soul Splint

Hey guys, I have some questions for those of you who wouldn't mind helping me out. Long story short, I've been saving gift cards for a couple of years, and it's now time for a new console. I'll be getting an Xbox One, but I need help in making a decision (posted this in community instead of Xbox thread because all console owners will likely have an opinion on this). The standard console comes with 500 GB. There's no way that will last, so here's what I'm considering:

Option A: Buy the COD Advanced Warfare bundle ($100 more expensive), which comes with a 1 TB console. It's ugly as sin, and I didn't care much about the game at first, but I do enjoy shooters so would probably have fun with it. My main reason for doing this is the upgraded space, which although 500 more GBs isn't that much, I figure the drive will be more reliable than an external. However, I may eventually run out of space on this one, too.

Option B: Buy a standard console and plan on getting a portable external drive later. Off the top of my head, four games stand out that I'll really want now/soon (Sunset Overdrive, Master Chief Collection, Dragon Age Inquisition and Shadow of Mordor), so I don't anticipate running out of room very soon. My concern is instances I've read/heard about in which people's external drives fail more easily than OP products. From what I've read no brand seems to be immune to this, but I have no experience with external drives myself. Also, I understand the external drive would be cheaper and would offer better performance than the Xbox's internal drive, but my main concern is reliability. I want it to still work after 5-10 years, preferably longer. I would be interested in a one or two TB drive, if I bought one.

So what's my best option, factoring in these variables? Of course I don't want to spend more money than I have to, but I even more so don't want something breaking on me for no reason.