Is it legal to make remixes of VGMs without permission?

NOIZ Ctrl

Hello Everybody!

I am not new to VGM composing,
but I'm new to remixing VGM, and new to this site too.

So MY QUESTION is:
Is it legal to make remixes of VGMs without permission?

For ex.: How can I legally make say a Zelda VGM remix without Nintendo sueing me for not asking and because I don't have the permission of course?

Thank you for your help!

NOIZ Ctrl

Thanks for your fast reply!

My plan is simple:
- Make some VGM remixes.
- Upload them to OC Remix (obviously because I like VGM AND for free promotion reasons).

Is this legal if I just do this?
How does this work here on OC Remix?

For ex. YouTube doesn't like covers/remixes/etc that doesn't have permission,
I will get flags on my videos and any kind of alert messages from music publishers or maybe from Nintendo or whatever.
Does this work differently on OC Remix?

(But I just want to do for the love of VGM, and of course it is automatically a free promotion thing too,
but I wouldn't make any music if I wouldn't share them to people.)

So should I even bother with remixes at all, without permission, but giving them out for free?

2 hours ago, NOIZ Ctrl said:

My plan is simple:
- Make some VGM remixes.
- Upload them to OC Remix (obviously because I like VGM AND for free promotion reasons).

I don't know if you read how things work on OCR but you cannot upload your tracks *like that* on the website. Also, OCR is dedicated to promote VGM, not to promote artists for free (some exceptions happen, with veteran remixers who turned pro for instance). I invite you to check out the "About" section.

2 hours ago, NOIZ Ctrl said:

Is this legal if I just do this?
How does this work here on OC Remix?

For ex. YouTube doesn't like covers/remixes/etc that doesn't have permission,
I will get flags on my videos and any kind of alert messages from music publishers or maybe from Nintendo or whatever.
Does this work differently on OC Remix?