*NO* Superman (GEN) "Stage 5"

Rexy

If the track passes, it will need a new title.
-Rexy

Contact Info:
My Remixer Name: DJ Dizzy
User ID: 37095

Submission Info:
Name of game: Superman
Name of the song arranged: Stage 5 music
Additional Info: it's the stage 5 music from Hudson Soft's Superman for Sega Genesis/MegaDrive.  It's a re-imagining.  I've always loved this stage's music.  I've been using synthesizers for 14 years and making music for longer.  I wanted to take a stab at remixing it in my own style.  It's my first time remaking a video game's music.  I used Ableton Live and hardware synths (primarily Access Virus TI Polar, Moog SubPhatty, Roland JP-8000) but also made some sounds with Spectrasonics Omnisphere using vintage synth oscillators as waveforms (Roland Juno 6, Roland Jupiter-8).  It was mastered with iZotope Ozone, TAL-Chorus-LX for widening on some tracks, and Ableton's compressor/EQ/limiter.

(starts at 22:54)

some fun fm-style synths to start out the track. the melody is recognizable right away, and the drums are nice and tight early on. the first presentation of the melody is a bit weird, because there's this huge sub-bass, the drums, a melody, and a moving countermelody, but no real obvious pad or anything to help hold it together. it feels a bit empty as a result. also at this point it becomes obvious that there's only really one drum loop being used and then a different one for fills, and that's it.

there's a break that's needed and we get back into it at 1:40 or so. there's some more complexity in the mids here which helps. 1:56 is the melodic content again, and again this is very 'hollow'-feeling, with no supporting pads in the mids and the melody several octaves above most of the other synths.