*NO* Final Fantasy 7 'The Last Hour'

Liontamer

ReMixer Name: Northmusic

Email: northmusic@hotmail.com

User ID: 22382

Source: Judgment Day from Final Fantasy

Song Title: The Last Hour

Comments:

Hello, I'm a local musician in the Chicago land area (Aurora Illinois to be exact). A friend of mine turned me onto OC Remix a few weeks ago. I've always been a fan of video game musicians (some of the most unrecognized artists in the field to be honest), and was happy to see such talented musicians paying tribute to some great work that's been done over the years.

That being said, my friend gave me a copy of Judgment Day, and asked me to try my hand at doing my own arrangement. The final product is attached to this email. While I know I'm not at the same level as most of the musicians on this site, I tried to keep the original composition structure in tact while giving it a more modern feel.

Thanks in advance for the time spent in reviewing it.

Best regards,

Steve Imbordino

http://www.northsounds.com

----------------------------------------------------------------

Dale North will kill you for taking that URL. :lol:

http://tzone.org/~llin/psf/packs2/FF7_psf.rar - 413 "Judgment Day"

The sounds are reasonably well-balanced, though there's not too much going on. Maybe it's just me, but I found the lead synth at :10 to be ultra-bland and cheap-sounding, on account of being so exposed. The strings weren't much hotter, but did trail in a way to help them sound more realistic.

No major dynamic shifts in the composition, though there were subtle changes/additions/subtractions in the instrumentation that helped the piece evolve somewhat. That's undermined by the repetitiveness of the melodic arrangement.