PIrates of the Caribbean: Waltz of the Sea

Shadow Wolf

Hey guys! OK, this is a big enormous moment for me. After 6 years of listening to all of you, I’ve finally attempted to make my own music. This remix isn’t actually from a game though. It’s a waltz version of the Pirates of the Caribbean theme song. So I’m not a game remixer yet. :P You go with what you’ve got, right? I had a good solid idea for this song, so here it is: Waltz of the Sea, WIP 1. Please download it, give it a listen (choke through it if you must) and critique it. I have little experience in Fruityloops and no musical training, so I did it all by ear. If you have to be musically technical to explain something, please use small words. :D There are several things that I know are a little off with the mix:

I haven’t balanced the volumes of all the instruments to my liking yet. This is all about panning, and what I want in the foreground and background of the mix.

I’m also very unfamiliar with tips and tricks for how to make a soundfont sound really good.

I want the soundfield to be fairly full, meaning I like to have a lot of instruments cooperating at one time, but I also don’t want to overpower the mix.

I don’t think there’s enough variation between some of the melody and harmony parts, they’re too much alike in places.

The cellos are too ‘ethereal’ for lack of a better word… I’d like to make them flow between notes better without dragging too long on one note, but listening to it it sounds like bringing the note delay down might do that.

Also of note is that the last part of the WIP with the solo cello is pretty much raw, I don’t have a transition or accompaniment yet.

Basically I’d like to use this mix to pinpoint things I can do to make me a better mixer and learn how to use Fruityloops better. Have at it. But please, be gentle with me. Thanks! Also, if the link doesn’t work/goes down, please let me know so I can pop it back up.

You can download the mix [>>right here.<<]