Journey of Darius: An HTML5 Platform Game Demo

A-RoN

So yeah, I'm an interactive media/game artist, and a web designer now (although audio is a sideline). Take a play at my new HTML5 platform action game demo! I'm deciding based on user feedback and reviews wether to continue with this project or scrap the whole thing and make it into an RPG. Here's the game:

http://www.interactive-media-arts.com/techdev/2010/parsonsa2228/html5_game/index.htm

Everything, including the fake-bit music, is produced by myself except for the dialogue and narrative which is written by my beautiful girlfriend. Adobe and Scirra Products were used in production.

The story is about a prarie state where a factory dumps toxins into the main river. Because of vegetation on the affected plant life, both humans and creatures develop mutations and super-powers. The government persecutes the creatures while others try to establish unity between the creatures and the regular humans. Within a government family, a boy who has super-powers is born and after discovering his powers, his mother goes into exile while his father takes him away to a small town outside the corrupt capital city. when his father goes to find his mother again, the boy follows him into a war between the creatures and the corrupt government of the city.

You get to play two levels in the demo. One where you play the boy following your dad, and the other where you help people in the military defend a small town around the city.

Let me know what you think. And yes, the introduction was meant to sound like the intro to Streets of Rage with a hint of novelty. Enjoy!

I enjoyed the demo! I think you should stick with the whole fight-to-the-right feel, it could turn out to be a really fun little game . I enjoyed the music for the most part as well. A few bits of criticism which you may already know about:

-The music during the conversation with the boy and his father doesn't loop cleanly.