Final Fantasy XI, Ronfaure Theme

Seij

Hello everyone. This is my first attempt at any type of home recording so I am still quite green at the whole process. Nevertheless, I wanted to post it here as this seems to be a good place to get some healthy criticism.

Anyway, the song is a rock/metal version of the Ronfaure theme from Final Fantasy XI Online.

http://www.mediafire.com/?4wyyo1mntco

I'm using Cakewalk Sonar 7, and have only been working with it for a few days, so any advice is definitely appreciated.

Hahaha, everytime I run through Ronfaure on a chocobo and listen to the music, I would wonder how it would sound as a rock/metal song. Anyway, the song seems a little empty right now but I think you're off to a good start. I would change up that melody, though, in a few sections. Maybe a counter-melody or something. Keep going! I'll be keeping an eye on this one.

The intro feels weak, the drums dry and the lead too soft. Actually, that applies to most of the track, but that's a mixing problem.

Arrangementwise, Sixto's right about this being kind'a empty. It picks up a bit after 2:00, which is nice, but I can't help but to want to hear a faster guitar melody in the bg. When it comesback to 2:45, it's grindtastic: same old, same old. That would have been the perfect place to give it so much more energy, especially in contrast with the following softer part.

4:10 - Why not up the drums to double speed top give it more grande finale feel? And pull a solo up to an octave higher, and whatever else you can think of. Seriously, it needs a finish.

Can't comment on source vs interpretation, but otherwise, this sounds like a technically successful WiP. As a WiP, I mean. It's not quite elaborate enough to work on OCR, so you need to add stuff, solos, background melodies, and variation.

I smell promise in this piece. :D