VG Opinion Poll #9

glasfen

Number nine... number nine...

...Ahem!

Veteran Gamer Opinion Poll #9

Gaming has come a long way since Pong and the advent of digital entertainment. I remember playing Sub Hunt and Ski on a green and black screen TRS-80. Those games loaded from cassette tapes. Then we got a NES and I graduated to games in color with controllers!

It seems that we are now at a point in the history of gaming where the major aesthetic obstacles of video and audio quality have been addressed. I mean, look at some of the 360 and PS3 games out there now (not to mention PCs)! Sure they're not 100% lifelike, but what's the point in getting any closer? You might as well go paintballing or join a live roleplayers' club. The main focus in immersion for this generation of consoles is the controller.

The Wiimote broke new ground for controllers with its motion-sensitivity. Now, whether you agree with waggling or not, this has become the new "it" for console gaming. But here's the question: What's next? What will define the next generation of gaming as the new immersive technology?

a) Virtual Reality helmets

B) the return of the Power Glove! (or something like it)

c) full-body motion capture

d) nothing, this is as far as it will go

e) something else (feel free to elaborate or invent!)

Vote and be heard! PM me for anything else.

I'm thinking something of a cross between b and c.

A sensor you can wear on multiple parts of your body, and each game has its own uses for the sensor. I.E. On the hands for a fighting game, arms for a shooter, legs for a dancing game (blah, nasty taste in my mouth). All sorts of combinations would be possible. Street Fighter V with full body controls? The obesity rate would PLUMMET.

hey

HEY

fuck you