Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess: Lake Hylia remix

J.L.Condon

Hey there everyone! This is my first serious attempt at a submittable remix. I have been doing original music for 6 - 8 months and am looking for constructive criticism/ comments.

This is a remix of the 'Lake Hylia' theme from the Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess.

So, without further ado, here is the remix titled 'Under the Lake'. Enjoy.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8934806/Shared%20Music/OCR%20submissions/Under%20the%20Lake.mp3

Raw synth design, stiff sequencing, not the most cohesive sound choices, ugly guitar, volume problems, an overall raw sound. Gets interesting half way through, tho still suffers some of the same problems. Intro, some bits in the middle, and outro - those weren't bad.

Those drums really don't fit with the other sounds, and their entrance is pretty abrupt. The track until then seemed like it was a slowly developing track with more promise. I'm a little disappointed by how good that was. ;) Or more like how good it didn't keep being. :P

So, work on your sound design and mixing, do more good transitions and developments. You've got good ideas and I think you've got good ears too, just gotta learn how to use them.

Also, good choice of source. Come to think of it, there's elements of the source that sounds like a track from a game I've been wanting to mix but that isn't a valid source for ocr.

What DAW do you use?

This... this is good. heavily synthed. Maybe you could less... punchy synths in the melody up until 1:18. Also, I personally feel like the power kit that opens at 1:18/1:20 shouldn't be there. maybe a bit less powerful kit. 808/909, maybe?

This is a guess, but I think you're using MixCraft, right? :)