*NO* Top Gear 'Moonbath'

djpretzel

This is my first attempt at a remix that may be worth your while, in other words, it's the first one that I don' think is terrible. I submitted this earlier but it didn't make it to the judges, good thing too because back then it sounded really (for lack of a better term) cruddy; improperly panned, poorly mixed, and the worst drum patch you've ever heard. Here's a direct link to the mp3 but it may not work, if it doesn't, use the second link, scroll down the page and download "Moonbath". Thanks for your time and enjoy.

http://www.snesmusic.org/spcsets/tg.rsn - "Title" (tg-1.spc), "Bordeaux" (tg-4.spc) & "Las Vegas" (tg-2.spc)

The arrangement was too conservative for me overall, so make it more interpretive and less sickly with medley-itis. Anyway, we're gonna gloss over that and just assess the presentation.

Not a bad electric guitar vibe going on here for the first 23 seconds, but the generic, tepid sounds came in soon enough I'm afraid. Oooh, whatever quasi-bass synth that was at :56 really hurt the piece, and when the guitar attempted to do some involved licks, it just sounded very fake on account of it being drowned out.

The levels were all over the place at 1:59, but at least the track was louder as a whole. Oy, just some ugly sounds here; the hats were way too loud, there's no solid background instrumentation, and the guitar sounded bad. Decent SFX usage at 2:28 with the car crash though.

We aimed to get more intense with "Bordeaux" at 2:37, but the execution was so quiet and weak the whole way through. At least the arrangement was a bit riskier. Bah, again with those crazy hi-hats. Then at 3:10, the drums were way louder & cleaner than the guitar; again the sound balance among your instruments makes no sense. Same with 4:12, what are you doing there?