*NO* Myth '808s Are Great'

djpretzel

Email sub file Myth_808s_Are_Great_OC_ReMix.mp3

I've been using OCremix.org for a while and you've got some great stuff on there. I'm an amateur producer myself so I thought I'd have a go at remixing something for you. Here's the details:

Videogame: Myth

System: Commodore 64

Song: Main Theme

Original Composer: Veroen Tel

I've no idea where to get the original music from though.

Remixer name: MrGittins

Forum ID: 27981

Remix name: 808s are Great

Email Address: jgittinsdis@hotmail.com

Comments: I loved the original music when I was a kid and felt that it would sound good remixed for more of a dancefloor sound. I used fruityloops studio and soundforge to make it.

http://exotica.fix.no/tunes/archive/C64Music/Tel_Jeroen/Myth_PSID.sid - Subtune 1/3

http://exotica.fix.no/tunes/archive/C64Music/Tel_Jeroen/Myth_Mix.sid - Suntune 1/1

You have to listen beyond 3 minutes of the PSID to finally get all of the sections used in this arrangement. I dunno why you said you had no idea where to get the original from, cuz you had to have gotten it from somewhere. No way you could have recreated the original like that from memory. You even sampled Subtune 2 of the PSID for the female saying "Welcome to Myth". You think we were born yesterday?

Don't feel like getting into the details, but the rearranged parts where the melody was different than the original weren't particularly creative, and much of the piece was the original with lo-fi, generic FL stuff over it. If you're truly going for the default sound vibe, this better be the most impressive arrangement ever.

I don't mean to be glib as a means of crapping on the piece, but I felt that the FL default stuff didn't work in tandem with SIDtune material and that the arrangement needed to be more interpretive without relying on the foundation of the verbatim original most of the way.