Amplification and clipping issue

First of all, good evening ladies and gentlemen of OCR, this is my first time posting in these forums. Pleased to meet all of you.

So far I've been learning my mixing techniques all by myself by just trying stuff out in FL Studio and seeing if it works, however, now that I've decided to register here, might as well ask some crucial questions people, who will know the certain answer.

The goal I seek is to make the volume of my tracks as high as possible, however, obviously, without clipping. The way I've been doing things until now was producing a mix with a limiter (I'm using FL Studio), which makes the wavelenght's maximum amplitude 0.0 dB. Afterwards I open my track with Audacity and amplify the whole thing approximately 2.0 dB. The sound then is just about right (I'm comparing the output volume with professional mixes), however in some cases the track start clipping in some places. Moreover, sometimes I can even amplify the track up to 3.0 dB and it won't clip, so I'm not sure as to what the general rule is.

My question is - is there a hit-confirm way to make the output gain as high as possible, but without clipping. I've searched through the forums for a similar topic since I figured this is an important issue for any mixer, however either I've failed to select the right keywords or there's no information regarding the matter. Pardon me if I've made a duplicate thread.

Thanks in advance.

Adding gain on tracks might help, but you're probably going to want to try adding some compressors. Keep your main output at 0.0dB and throw on a multiband compressor (or regular) and play around with it until you find something that sounds good. Too much compression and limiting will crush the hell out of your mix, so be conservative and use your ears.

I mostly make orchestrations, so I'm not sure what it's like to mix for other genres. Always trust your ears.

ebuch pretty much said it.