Reaper tips

Argle

I've been using Reaper for a couple years, and I'm continually impressed by all the little tricks and techniques you can do that can dramatically speed up your workflow. So, I'd like to share some of the tips I've picked up. Hopefully they will be useful to people starting out in Reaper, to demonstrate the power and flexibility of the program.

I don't want to have all the fun, anyone is welcome to post their own tips. I'll keep updated links in the first post to all of the tutorials.

btw, I was going to call the thread Reaper Tips and Tricks, but that tutorial series already exists (and is very much worth your money, as are all of Kenny Gioia's Reaper tutorials). There's a little bit of overlap between it and this thread, but he goes into a whole bunch of stuff that I don't intend on covering. If you're new to Reaper and want a grounding in the basics, DEFINITELY start with his Reaper 4 Explained series. It's the best tutorial I've seen for new users bar none. He goes into detail on the things I gloss over or assume the user is familiar with.

Misc stuff

Tabbing

Track templates

Mouse modifiers

Portable install

Looping and skipping

Preferences search

Bus creation

Editing and techniques

Quick item copying

Item volume knob

Fade curves

Item muting

Sidechain compression

Trimming items

Pitch envelopes

Swiping

Auto trim/split items

Exploding items to different tracks

Envelopes and tempo

Envelope basics

Envelope volume offset

Envelope curves

Tempo and time signature changes

MIDI

Where's the piano roll?

Sends

Note ends

Drawing notes

Note coloring

Naming notes

Note length to grid size

Drum mode

Alternate views

Strumming

Multi-item editing

Strip CCs from game MIDIs

Stepping through notes

Transposing actions

Chord creation actions

Chord voicing

Drag note selection

Reversing and inverting notes

Plugins

Multi-out VSTs

Default presets

Renaming plugins

FX chains

Custom FX folders

Quick FX chains

Project