*NO* Donkey Kong Country 2 'Fire for Ice'

djpretzel

email sub file Averx_Fire_For_Ice_OC_Remix.mp3

Remixer/Producer Alias: Averx

Game Remixed: Donkey Kong Country 2 - Diddy's Kong Quest Song Remixed: In a Snow-Bound Land

webpage: www.soundclick.com/averx

Thoughts:

I've been a musician for several years now, but this is my first game remix ever. I blended this mellow song with my classic hip-hop orchestral style. The rhythm is very fast and energetic, a counterpoint to the slow pace of the original composition (I'm all about the energy... haha). I played everything strictly by ear and then transposed the piece down a step. However, the only part retained from the original song is the chorus... everything else has been composed by me. Enjoy!

P.S. I sent this in earlier to

submissions@ocremix.org, but didn't get a confirmation letter. I wasn't sure which address to send it to, so here it is... again, haha.

Do You Yahoo!?

Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around

The opening chords here don't sit well with me, nor do they seem to fit when they are played after that (with the strings). The drums seem out of place somehow. They're more like big beat or hip hop drums.. I'm not really sure what style you were going for, but I don't hear OTHER elements from either of those genres here. The string samples are also horribly mechanical and it's really obvious when they are played fast. Try to find new ones or sequence them in such a way that they don't sound so fake.