ReMixer - RoeTaKa
Name - Alex Roe
Email - 
UserID - 9374

Games Arranged - Terranigma
Arrangement Name - Home
Songs Arranged - Crysta (Town)

Comments:

Terranigma turned 20 on October 20th 2015 and I thought it would be a great time to return to one of my favourite games and song from a game. For a number of years now I actually had ideas of making an entire arrangement album of Terranigma on my own, but I think it would probably go beneath people's radar. So for now this single remix will have to do.

I've already remixed this song twice and they were both rejected (and rightly so! Haha). The first time, 11 years ago I had been writing music for about 6 months and thought I was really cool with soundfonts at the time. I remember sending Darkesword a PM about the remix, I can't actually remember what he said haha. The second time, about 6 months after the prior remix, I had my first proper VST - SampleTank 2. At this point I thought I was for sure making an amazing remix! Again it wasn't, plagued with dissonance it was sure to fail. I saw the judges comments and Shnabubula was quite thorough with his analysis, I decided to message him on AIM and we still talk today so I am thankful I made that remix.

Coming back to this song reminds me of my time over the years writing music and the bonds that formed from it. If I were an old man this song would trigger so many memories. If I had amnesia it might save me! I wanted to just do a really pleasing arrangement of this song that pays homage to the original but deviates here and there just so the song can be enjoyed more. I think that's very much what mv did with his remix of this song, his is pretty much the definitive Crysta remix and one of my favourite remixes of all time...so I can only hope mine can be enjoyed as much as his.