Final Fantasy medley 'Crash'

redshojin

I'm working on a medley of final fantasy songs. It's my first time remixing a video game song, and first time remixing something without an official source for audio (like multi-tracks.)

So far, Great Warrior (FF 7) is represented, somewhere in there. Other wise it's original for the most part, but I plan to add more. If anyone has any suggestions, ideas, or would like to collaborate, by all means, tell me. I'd love to work with other people. I'm working in FL Studio 8, in case anyone's interested.

Thanks man.

Cut most of the distortion. It works fine for crunchy chords, but for melody and noodling on a neck, it gets in the way and makes it unsexy.

I want to hear more layering, it sounds too much like a simple skeleton of what should be a decent song.

I hear clipping all over the place, mostly in the intro. Play with the EQ, panning, and velocities until it has volume without losing parts of the sound you want.

The huge amounts of distortion are making it hard to tell how many layers are there, I only hear the drums, a detuned guitar, and a more standard tuning guitar.

I want some more of the source, since Great Warrior was a great song to begin with.

From 1:39ish to the end is COMPLETELY bare, and needs more behind it. The fuzzy detuned guitar isn't strong enough to support the main melody in the way you want it to.

What I'd recommend is adding a bassist into the mix (or if that lower one is bass, then consider making it a guitar, and adding a bassist), and changing the octaves you're playing in. There's too much mud there, and not enough substence.

The drums don't feel lively enough, I'd consider playing with the velocities and panning to make them more real. The structure is interesting enough to keep the listener there while the drums are there, but there isn't enough life in them to make them happy while listening.