*NO* Final Fantasy 8 'Kind of Breezy'

djpretzel

Seems quite impressive to me - djp

Hey DJP, I'm a new mixer, this is my first time doing anything like this. I have always loved this song from FF8, and thought it deserved more time in the spotlight:

My Info:

Hungry Joe is my mixer name

Nate Jasensky is my real name

The Game the mix is from is Final Fantasy 8, the Breezy theme to the second town in the game. Some people have mixed feelings on the different parts of this mix, and how they work together, but I think I've worked them out to be fairly flowing, and I like to think of this song as a kind of medley of one theme in varied styles. I hope you enjoy!

right off the bat the recording strikes me as quite sub-par. however the performance is pretty good.

at 1:15 it's quite clear that it's a new recording.

nice percussion, the solo guitar is decent. lots of bad rhythms, but not terrible playing. unfortunately the rhythm section isn't there at all. can barely hear the bass and rhythm guitar, and what i hear is awkward.

2:55 and another jump in the recording. these transitions sound really really awkward

pretty rockin synth solo, but then at 3:55 there's a really awkward and poorly played guitar solo that just kills the momentum.

The arrangement is epic and enjoyable, and those synth solos rock, but this mix is kept back by silly things like guitar recording quality, performance slips, and awkward transitions.

NO

This is much more of a review than a simple decision. As the non-musician, I feel I've gotta justify my decision with more detail when the product is this promising on the surface.