*NO* Typhoon 'Libya Strikefighter Mix'

djpretzel

I liked it... we need the original MIDI or something, and stuff - djp

Hello there – I’m new to game music remixing. Just thought you’d be interested in a submission.

ReMixer Name: Daniel Fortune

Email: dan@randomrevolution.net

Game: Typhoon (1988)

Platform: Sinclair Spectrum ZX

Publisher: Imagine

Song: Typhoon (Libya Strikefighter Remix)

Originally Composed by: Jonathan Dunn

This remix comes from a game I used to play a lot as a kid. The Typhoon theme really appealed to me even then. So many years later, with the tune still fondly lodged in my heart, I remixed it. And this one specifically, because there appears to be a lack of any Spectrum remixes on OCR. Hopefully not for much longer.

Yeah, it looks like this one came out for several systems, including the ZX Spectrum. All the relevant game info in the submission letter checks out. No luck on seeing a MIDI anywhere. The Typhoon soundtrack from the Spectrum version is in .AY format.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some may have an issue with the frequent sample usage, arguing that it simply pads the track (as some of the samples chosen repeated too many times), but overall I had no problem with it and the samples did help to enhance the atmosphere of the track. I mentally tuned them out while evaluating the development of the music itself, so those were just something extra; the pilot communication samples do tie the spirit of the track to the game that was remixed though.