email sub file EverybodyelsE - Underground Dream.mp3

Contact Info

Remixer Name : EverybodyelsE

e-mail Address: darksaturn2000@hotmail.com

Remix Info

Remix Title: Underground Dream

Name of Game: Earthworm Jim 2 (SNES)

Name of Song: Lorenzen's Soil (Level 2)

I have never done a remix before so I thought I'd start with Earthworm Jim 2 for the SNES. I aimed for a chillout sound that is present in the original music even if it is slightly harsh but most 16-bit consoles were. There's elements from the title music as an intro and end because I thought it fitted well. The Remix was made within a week using programs that are new to me so this is the first and hopefully not the last.

I aim to do a Goldeneye64 remix next since it was the game i played most while at school.

Martin (EverybodyelsE)

http://www.snesmusic.org/spcsets/ewj2.rsn - "Lorenzen's Soil" (ewj2-03.spc)

Decent stuff, but extremely reliant on the source material for the structure. Short and sweet, the sounds were basic/generic and lacking any punch, and the production was flat. Track repeats itself at 3:11; might as well have cut the track length in half. Lazy, uncreative arrangement. On this level, it's just a weak techno arrangement with some light piano and strings, and some gerenic beats.

Dan's a bigger fan and more familiar with the source material thanks to "Invertebrate Retreat", so he'll have more thorough insight as to how you handled the arrangement, but I didn't hear anything hugely interpretive hear that put a notably creative spin on the source material.

NO

• 3 weeks later...

This is really repetitive and simple. I can't blame the mixer too much as the source material is pretty simple as well.

There's way too much reverb here, and that's a lot when I say something like that. ;) I think it's more to do with the mix being glossed over with a big amount rather than various layers of dry to wet (front to back).