OCR04525 - *YES* EarthBound "Winters Is Coming"

Emunator

ReMixer name: jnWake
Name of game(s) arranged: Earthbound.
Name of arrangement: Winters is Coming.
Name of individual song(s) arranged: Snowman (https://ocremix.org/song/820/snowman)

Even more from Dwelling of Duels! This one's from the 20th anniversary in September 2023. That one was a big month and this track placed 12/59, which is honestly pretty decent!

Anyway, I'm gonna try to keep it brief this time. Unlike most of my remixes, this one wasn't born from an intention to remix. Instead, I was jamming on my keyboard and somehow came up with the somewhat unusual chord progression from the intro (FMaj7 - CMaj7x2 - GMaj7) and then. improvising over it, for some reason, I started playing the main melody from "Snowman". I thought it sounded pretty cool and archived that idea in my mind for a while. For DoD's 20th anniversary I was a little short on time so I decided to revive this idea and develop it further from my initial improvisation. Most of the track is built over doing fun chord/key variations over the source. I had a lot of fun building it so I hope you enjoy!

Regarding source usage, the source "Snowman" (here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niE24aTdtns ) has basically 2 main sections (A is from 00:00 to 00:32 and B from 00:33 to 1:07). During the remix I leave the main melodies almost unchanged but I move the chords a lot... Anyway, timestamp time!

0:00-0:30 - Original intro with the chord progression mentioned above.
0:30-0:57 - Melody from A on top of the melody, plus a transition also based on A.
0:58-1:29 - Based on B, piano does a variation of the main melody and the pads are based on the backing from B on the source track.
1:30-2:15 - Another variation of A, with a slightly different chord progression from the previous one.
2:17-2:47 - Piano solo! Nothing really based on the source here, except for the final quote of the solo.