Looking to learn how to play drums

kitty

Hey all I've always wanted to learn more instruments but I've finally decided to learn how to play the drums (first.)

First of all, I want to get my own drum set but I have no idea where to start! I need something affordable but I won't set a price limit just yet. I wanna hear your guys' input on what a good/decent, cost efficient set is for a complete beginner. Also, I'd like to hear any suggestions/resources on how to teach myself how to play.

If this should be somewhere else, please move it. =)

it might be worth it to look into renting a set before you actually go and buy one, and then discover you hate it. it'll also help you pick brands that you're comfortable with - aka, if you really like the sound of, say, DW kits, you'd be able to buy one when you actually put down the cash.

if and when you decide to buy a set, don't go with the 150$ bargain basement models. there are decent kits out there for 400$ or so that are actually worth the time - go with one of those.

i'd also suggest either drums for dummies (the pic is the wrong one, it's the right book) or the idiot's guide to drums, etc. both of these books are actually really helpful and will make things pretty clear.

once you get the hang of the basic idea, just play along with your favorite band. that's the best way to get good, honestly =) practice is required with a coordination-based instrument like this.