Contact Information

Remixer name: GlassSkinned

Email:

Submission Information

Name of game arranged: Touhou Hisouten: Scarlet Weather Rhapsody (

Name of arrangement: As Peaceful As Gensokyo

Name of song arranged: Argue for and Against

Original composer: Junya Ota (ZUN)

This is my first attempt to make a kind-of-like Japanese music. Also, it's somewhat repetitive, in my opinion. It's supposed to be loopable after all.

• 1 month later...

The lack of realism in the string instrument sequencing handling the lead was unfortunate. Whatever plucked instrument got thrown in at :26 sounded dissonant through 1:00, so I'm not sure that was the right move. Once the writing of whatever instrument that was at 1:09 came in, this was basically over as far as the call. The potential here is cool, but there's too much clashing writing dropped into the picture.

The arrangement of the theme wasn't particularly interpretive besides adapting it to this instrument set and looping it for too long; then adding two parts with original writing ideas that didn't click with the source melody at all. Too much looping, not enough realism in the lead part, and not enough development of the source tune. The ending also unceremoniusly cuts off.

See what you can do to develop the ideas a lot further and improve the cohesion.

NO

Larry, while harsh, is pretty much on in this call. I think there's a good base in the idea and instruments you are using, but there's almost no development once you establish the sounds. I'd love to hear some harmony and countermelodies, and have instrumentation/structure change throughout to add more variety and interest in the mix.

There's a lot of work to be done here, but I think there's some good ideas to start with established. Listen to some of the most recently posted mixes and see how they develop their arrangements to get some inspiration.

NO