OCR02963 - *YES* Chrono Trigger 'Kingdom of Magic'

Palpable

Your ReMixer name: Argle

Name of game(s) arranged : Chrono Trigger

Name of individual song(s) arranged: Corridors of Time -

Name of arrangement: Kingdom of Magic

Yes. I can hear your depressed groans now. Maybe I should be BANNED!!! from OCR.

This one is interesting to me in that Corridors of Time was the very first game remix I did. Back then I was a noob, a really clueless noob, nevertheless I submitted the track to OCR with great confidence. Of course it got ripped apart. Looking back at it the track is quaintly horrible. Anyway, I decided to give this source another go.

GRROOOOOOAAAAAANNNNNNN

Nah, I don't think I'm ever gonna stop loving this song. Argle's take isn't too out there, but it's solidly executed. Heavier on the rhythm than the original, while maintaining all the core elements. I liked how initially it sounds very close to the original, light percussion and all, but busts into a funky groove. I wouldn't have minded more liberties with some element, maybe the bass, and more change-ups in the backing parts. The variations on the lead and the breakdown sections did just enough to hold my interest, but there was some obvious copypasta in the drums, bass, chimes, and I would have liked to see a little more effort. Still, solid enough.

YES

• 1 month later...

Not a very interpretive arrangement as far as the melody and structure from 1:06-on, but the additive writing, instrumental changes, and some melodic personalization did add up to a borderline pass for me on that level. The production was a sure bet.

I'm pretty much where Vinnie was, i.e. it cuts it close, but it does have some meaningful interpretation, and the potential here isn't fully realized though it's in the right direction.

Because the backing patterns sound similar, it's actually easy to overlook the modifications Adam made, but if you listen more closely you shouldn't miss all that.

YES