*NO* Castlevania 2 & Super Castlevania 4 'Silence in the Mix - Halloween Theme'

Chimpazilla

Hi,

For your consideration,  here is a Remix based on Castlevania themes 'Silence in the Daylight' (Castlevania II) and 'Chandeliers' (Super Castlevania IV), with a few of my own themes intermixed.  Looks like I have missed the 2015 Castlevania tribute...perhaps this could be a candidate for 2016 :)

Let me know if you have any questions or need additional details.

cheers & thanks

- Brandon

Contact Information

Submission Information

• Name of game(s) arranged: Castlevania
  • Name of arrangement: "Silence in the Mix - Halloween Theme"
  • Name of individual song(s) arranged: Silence in the Daylight / Chandeliers
  • Your own comments about the mix, for example the inspiration behind it, how it was made, etc.: A project I've been chipping away on for a few years.  Always liked the Silence in the Daylight theme, but wanted to take it on a bit of a departure.  I included original themes and eventually wanted to bridge to the Chandeliers theme.  Since this is halloween type music, I wanted to include a nod to some of the themes from the music works of John Carpenter, as well as another game (Ys) during it's dark cave sequences.

Edited by Liontamer
closed decision

• 2 weeks later...

Man this is a tricky one.  On one hand you've got some excellent musicianship thrown in here, but on the other hand there are some questionable production and structure issues.  First, some of the instruments are pretty bland and flat, such as the synth at 0:18.  The structure of your song is really bipolar, sometimes the transitions are just genius (like at 1:26, 1:50, 2:26) but other times the track does a full stop into nothing of importance and builds up to barebones sections (2:09, 3:01, 3:21).  The whole 3:20-4:20 section, while had ok melodies, felt like too much meandering and too detached from the other sections of the song.