Audiomancer

1. work-in-progress Dragon Warrior/Quest 2 Overworld Theme Remix

20 posts in this topic

This is my first time posting to these forums and submitting a remix to them. I just recently got what I believe is called a step sequencer on my computer, LMMS in this case. After wrestling with it for a while, I created this remix. It is the two different walk about themes from Dragon Warrior/Quest 2. I have some varying styles in this...I like them, but also I did it so some of those varied styles could be heard, and perhaps one of them might work for the entire track, as opposed to the contrasting genres heard here. I added the celebration theme for when you add your final party member between the two different themes, and also added a footstep sound that you hear in the game for when you enter/leave a town. Not sure if those are needed. I also don't know how well I EQ'd this. I "split the difference" between different speakers and devices for playback, as I was surprised how different the same track can sound from one set of speakers/device to another.  

Thank you for the constructive feedback ahead of time, and please take into consideration my extreme inexperience:)

Edit 3-18-18 Latest version at the bottom of this post. Layered some things differently, changed some parameters on a couple instruments, and added a couple little personal touches:)

Edit 3-21-18 Latest version at the bottom of this post once again, fixed a couple of sour notes that made themselves known at the end of the tune.

Edit 3-25-18 Changed some EQ. Also altered some of reverb on some instruments, as suggested. I also changed the drum pattern in one section, I had 16th note kicks in the section in question; I decided that was overpowering and changed that to quarter note kicks.