Performance Anxiety

theshaggyfreak

This is something I suffer from. My fear of playing an instrument and singing in front of people is great. Here's a copy of a blogpost going through how I felt about my first steps in conquering this fear. For those who have this problem as well, you're not alone.

I’ve been a musician for quite a long time. I started out when I was eight years old which is about 31 years ago. I’ve played in several bands but it has been a long time since I’ve done any sort of performing. I’ve always wanted to be able to play as a solo guy but the anxiety of doing so has always kept me from giving it a try. Playing and in instrument and singing (at the same time) in front of a group of people is actually one of my greatest fears. Last night I took the first step towards conquering that fear.

I’ve spent the past two or three months practicing with my ukelele and I taught myself a few songs that I liked. I practiced till I was satisfied enough to give an open mic night a try. I did my best to mentally prepare myself for what might happen. When I have an anxiety attack, my mind ends up going blank and my hands won’t do what I tell them to do. I almost end up doing a sort of stutter that I can’t get past.

I knew that there was a good chance that one of these anxiety attacks could happen. So, I put myself in a situation where I knew I would get support from my friends no matter what happened. I would play my first time out at my friend Rob’s open mic at Teavolve. I told myself that I wouldn’t count the experience as a failure no matter what happened. You can’t drown as long as you keep your head above the water.