• Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About DDRKirby(ISQ)

  • Rank
    Bad Dude (+400)

Contact Methods

  • Website URL

Artist Settings

  • Collaboration Status
    2. Maybe; Depends on Circumstances
  • Software - Digital Audio Workstation (DAW)
    FL Studio
  • Composition & Production Skills
    Arrangement & Orchestration
    Drum Programming
    Mixing & Mastering
    Synthesis & Sound Design

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Hey all! DDRKirby(ISQ) here -- A lot of you might know me from my Katamari and Link's Awakening remixes, but the very first mix I had posted on OCR was a waltz from Touhou 11 that was specifically designed for social/ballroom dancing. That remix was actually part of a larger dance music project that I've been working on for the past 4 years! I'm proud to announce the release of Celestial Melodies, a collection of 23 "9-bit" chiptune tracks designed specifically with social dance in mind. Album link (Bandcamp): https://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/celestial-melodies Release trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V695LnQOjHU I've been social dancing for about 6 years and it's been an amazing experience. This album is my way of contributing back to that wonderful community. It's got over an hour of music in my signature 9-bit style, and features a ton of waltzes, as well as some songs for hustle, west coast swing, east coast swing, nightclub two step, and even a handful of irish ceili tunes. Hope you enjoy! --DDRKirby(ISQ)
  2. It's been almost a year since final deadline, can we have a status update of some sort?
  3. Plug for Jillian Aversa! (https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/jillian-aversa/id376154139) virt also has the ducktales: remastered OST up on there, it seems.
  4. I'm proud to announce the release of my new album, All in a Day's Work 3! All in a Day's Work 3 is a collection of 24 tracks that I've made for One Hour Compo over at thasauce.net. Since each song was made over the span of an hour, the entire album was effectively produced over 24 hours. The 24 tracks come out to over 110 minutes of music, most of which is in my classic 9-bit chiptune style, but some of which is more experimental, including orchestral work and a solo piano piece. It also comes in a shiny physical DVD format, with full-color artwork! Bandcamp link (pay what you want!): http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/all-in-a-days-work-3
  5. Hehe, probably people wanting to download the source for my two latest OCR postings... Let me know if you lost the files and need them again, as I'm sure I still have them somewhere.
  6. I just want to say that I absolutely LOVE the ReMixes you've done so far! Keep up the awesome work :)

  7. Yeah, sorry >.< This is actually the exact same mix that I submitted using FL defaults, verbatim from the competition, so I didn't go back and clean up any of the small mastering issues or use any fancier mastering plugins, etc. This is entirely mastered using a single instance of FL's Soft Clipper, lol xD
  8. Where are the download links?? I need to put these on my mp3 player right away...
  9. Hey all, 8 months ago, Aivi & Surasshu released The Black Box, a wonderful piano + chiptune collaboration album: http://aivi-surasshu.bandcamp.com/album/the-black-box The album meant a lot to me, and as a way of saying a special thank you, I've released an entire remix tribute album, Love Everlasting. I've rearranged every one of the original 11 songs from The Black Box in my own 9-bit style. This includes a remix of Lonely Rolling Star from Katamari, as well as a remix of Mabe Village from Link's Awakening! Please listen to it and download it (for free!) here: http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/love-everlasting I met up with Aivi & Surasshu in person this past weekend to present the album to them in person! Was really fun to finally meet them and deliver it ^ ^
  10. Yeah, another one of these threads. It's at the very beginning of this song: I'm using FL, I love 3xOsc if at all possible. I have all the usual free VST suspects: Synth1, Crystal, Superwave, etc. I also have Sylenth1, and Alchemy Player + Planet Earth soundbank. Even if you just point me to a preset or patch, that's fine. Don't need to know the exact details from scratch. Sounds like two things going on, a really shimmery thing and then some more mellow pads underneath. The closest thing I know that sounds like the shimmer is some sort of auto-filter or something...I bet if I dug around I could find some preset that comes sort of close but not really. I'm assuming it's some kind of clever filter modulation? The mellow pad I'm assuming I could get if I just had some generic triangle/saws or strings and took out the highs and use appropriate volume envelope. Or just use a preset.
  11. Man, a bunch of that was definitely unintentional ;P Especially with the Airwolf thing, that was just me riffing off of the intro of the Blackjack theme ^^; The beginning starts off with setzer's theme mixed with the arp from FEZ's " ", yes. Then at 1:02 there's a melody from a song I made for One Hour Compo, . Then we go into the main Blackjack theme...There's a little bit at 2:36 that sounds like a snippet of the . At 2:39 the Blackjack music is together with some other stuff, like Terra's theme. And of course, the part after that has that Mega Man stylistic influence.Glad you liked it
  12. Yeeep, I've used them a ton. Whenever you redo them, let me know!

  13. Sometimes it's just easier to use a tracker, believe it or not. Certain effects I feel just lend themselves a bit easier to the tracker format, or at least, the specific tracker used. Examples: - Pulse width envelopes. You actually CAN do this with FL's 3xOsc if you layer two of them and cut between them (clever trick that I thought of myself, muahaha), but if you want a note that cycles between 3 different pulse widths or something, that's much easier to do in famitracker than in FL (depends on synth). Of course, you can use something like NES VST, but there's other things, such as: - Vibrato starting at a specific point in the note. Again, this is possible in something like FL, but I feel like it's just easier in something like famitracker or LSDJ. Also, pitch bends are awesome with FL's built-in 3xOsc, but they don't work like that for most VSTs. - Sounds that are very specific to the hardware in question. Good luck emulating the LSDJ wave channel synths in FL. There are some good replications out there for like, the NES's noise channel, but I still feel like famitracker is easier to use for this, since you can have a proper pitch/volume/noise freq envelope and everything, and alter it on the fly on whatever row you want. Sure, you could make the sound in famitracker first, and then export it out so you can use it in some non-tracker DAW, but.... That being said, each application has its own advantages and disadvantages. Writing a dual-LSDJ song is really fun and awesome, but takes =forever=...