Jump to content

Jorito

Members
  • Posts

    1,027
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    63

1 Follower

Profile Information

  • Real Name
    Jorrith
  • Location
    The Netherlands
  • Occupation
    IT stuff

Contact

Artist Settings

  • Collaboration Status
    3. Very Interested
  • Software - Digital Audio Workstation (DAW)
    Bitwig Studio
    Logic
    Reason
    Renoise
  • Software - Preferred Plugins/Libraries
    Kontakt, Zebra2, Shreddage, Omnisphere, Komplete Ultimate
  • Composition & Production Skills
    Arrangement & Orchestration
    Drum Programming
    Lyrics
    Mixing & Mastering
  • Instrumental & Vocal Skills (List)
    Vocals: Male
  • Instrumental & Vocal Skills (Other)
    Vocoders

Recent Profile Visitors

13,880 profile views

Jorito's Achievements

  1. Added to that: be careful that the arrangement still has to be considered a cover, and if you’re very liberal with your arrangement, that may become a problem. Not that I’ve seen that myself, but I already vet the ones that I think are too liberal and simply don’t try to post them. Another big one: original lyrics are a no-go. If the source track has lyrics, you can use those, but anything with your own lyrics won’t fly. To be safe, also for stuff like choirs and so on, stick with the regular oohs and aahs (even though you might possibly get away with the single phrase here and there).
  2. Glad to finally see this one posted! Congrats, Mel!
  3. The German title simply means “Master of Magic”, I just thought it sounded cool and fitting for the track, no further story behind it really.
  4. I’m game. if this starts running, make sure to look into mastering (and a mastering engineer) and take enough time into account for judge evaluations, revisions and post production. The two months you listed are probably on the short side for that.
  5. I wanted to submit a for-fun bonus track, but turns out ThaSauce doesn't allow me to. So here it is, again... just for fun.
  6. Subbed a simple chiptune cover myself, I needed an excuse to try this new Furnace Tracker anyway ;)
  7. Sad to see it end, but surprised it was around for so long. I checked, I even got 3 mixposts out of my contributions to PRC! If I don't forget I'll try to whip up an entry for the last round and give it a proper goodbye
  8. The timing probably won't work for me (bunch of deadlines/deliverables in August and holidays abroad in September), shame because I loved the earlier competitions DS did. Will still be eyeballing it, even if I can't actively participate I might be around in a more supporting role if needed.
  9. Whohoo! Will be glad for this one to see the light of day!
  10. I have released about 30 or so of my OCReMix (and tracks I did for other communities) on streaming services like Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon, etc. In short: there’s this thing called a “compulsory license” in US law, which basically means that if your version can be labeled as a cover (I listened to your track, my biased opinion is that it’d probably be fine) and has seen a commercial release in the US, it will qualify for release on streaming services. I personally use Soundrop (https://soundrop.com/) for releasing tracks on streaming services. It’s pretty easy to do, and they distribute to all streaming services for $1 per track. Their FAQ is a good place to start reading up on how it works. You’ll especially find this page helpful: https://support.soundrop.com/hc/en-us/articles/360039589271-Advanced-Cover-Song-Licensing-Request-Tips When it comes to figuring out what tracks can or cannot be licensed, that page also gives some good advice. The short summary: if it can be found on vgmdb.net as a commercial release in the US, you will be fine. If you can find it in the US Apple Music store (see links in the article above), you will be fine. You arranged a popular song from a popular franchise that has known commercial US releases, so I’m pretty sure it’ll qualify (but I didn’t check). That’s about it as a starting point. I’d suggest to read the FAQs so you have a sense of what it’s all about, and just sign up and give it a go. The worst that can happen is that they will reject and refund your $1. Oh, and do keep in mind, every track released on streaming services needs album art too. Doesn’t have to be anything fancy, but it is required. Hope this enough to get you going, but feel free to ask if you have questions about this.
  11. Sounds good to me, at casual quick listen. Also fun to hear Natalie sing in French for a bit
  12. Great idea! I released all OCRs tracks that I could put on streaming services in 2 compilation albums: And also a few singles:
  13. Hello everyone! We have the great pleasure to announce the Youtube premiere of the long awaited 78th OC ReMix album: Final Fantasy VIII: SeeDs of Pandora! This whopping 5 disc, 80 track album with a runtime of over 5 and half hours will make its debut for your listening pleasure on May 8th at 12 noon PST / 3pm EST / 9pm CET. Join in on the fun and the discussion at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkYWPV40ON8 Can’t join the full premiere? No worries! After the full album has premiered, there will be independent premieres for each individual discs, scheduled after the full premiere. You can join those at the following links and times: Disc 1 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ffyb3waAOOg at 7pm PST / 10pm EST / May 9, 4am CET Disc 2 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3_19FY6m1k at 8:15pm PST / 11:15pm EST / May 9th, 5:15 am CET Disc 3 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3MB114BRK2Y at 9:30pm PST / May 9th, 12:30am EST / May 9th, 6:30am CET Disc 4 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDbOQYN-UQ4 at 10:45pm PST / May 9th, 1:45am / May 9th, 7:45am CET Disc 5 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lV8APcBXmvg at May 9th; 12am PST / 3am EST / 9am CET See you there!
×
×
  • Create New...