I miss arcades

Bigfoot

Sure, I've got a small arcade that's part of a go-kart park where I play DDR at, but most of their games are redemption(tickets)...boring.

There's a Mario Bros/Donkey Kong/Donkey Kong Junior cabinet that I recently started playing on after I get done with DDR so I can cool off. My friend and I played what felt like an hour trying to get the high score. I've never seen most of the levels because back then DK Jr. just seemed so hard, so I'd give up on the first stage. :P

There's a pretty nice arcade about an hour from where I live, but sadly it's going to be shut down due to high expansion or some crap. The owners are going to retire after they shut it down instead of relocating. Sad :[

Anyone have any really nice arcades in their area? I'm sure people in California have pretty sweet arcades since there are a million locations that have DDR/ITG/etc machines. Or anyone here in Japan? I know the arcades over there are pretty sweet. I know Evilhead is off the top of my head, but I havne't seen him post in a while.

Usually once a year, we go to see my extended family down in Chicago. Next to the Woodfield mall they have a Gameworks, which is filled to bursting with arcade games. They've got a ton of stuff. Off the top of my head, I can remember a Metal Slug 5, MvC2, tons of assorted light gun games, F-Zero AX, classics like DK, Dig-Dug, and Pac-man, as well as 4 Mario Kart Arcade machines that were only made available in Japan! They let you use credits on a gameworks card instead of the usual quarters, so its all about swiping instead of inserting. Yeah, that place is pretty great...:smile:

Just south of the SF Bay in California here.. there aren't many dedicated arcades around me. The bowling alley has a small array of racers and pinball machines, and Golfland has one.. and the LaserQuest (laser tag) has a small corner of arcade games.. and then you've got your Chuck E. Cheese, but I don't know where the closest one to me is.