PDA

View Full Version : Setting up SONAR to take both MIDI and audio into the same plugin


Dafydd
07-30-2009, 09:08 PM
I've tried to get Gsnap to run in midi mode, but I can't seem to do it. The readme says "For this to work, your sequencer must be set up so that GSnap can receive both audio and MIDI messages." Does anyone know how to setup Sonar this way?

Harmony
07-31-2009, 12:19 AM
by default sonar will bring gsnap in as a VST plug-in (effect), meaning that it can only operate on audio. To change this you need to configure it as both a plug-in (takes in audio) and a synth (takes in midi). I'm in sonar 6 so it might be different for your version, but to do this, go into the plugin manager, click on the "VST Audio Effects" category, then find gsnap in the "Registered Plug-ins" panel. Highlight it then click on the "Plug-in Properties" button. Set gsnap to be configured as both a plug-in and a synth by checking the appropriate boxes. After doing that, gsnap should no longer appear under the "VST Audio Effects" category. It should now be a synth found under the "VSTi Instruments" category. Now you can add it to your list of synths and start using it.

In order to get midi mode to work, you can't (to my knowledge) use the simple Insert>synth method that automatically routes the midi channel to the audio track and turns the audio track into a special synth track. No, you have to go old school and route it yourself. Insert>Audio Track. In the audio track's FX bin, add gsnap as a SYNTH. Now Insert>MIDI Track. Set the input of your midi track to your keyboard and set the output to gsnap.

That should do it. You might also want to check and make sure that gsnap is indeed both synth and a plug-in. Bring up the gsnap interface from the audio track fx bin, then check the vst properties from the drop-down menu in gsnap.

Dafydd
07-31-2009, 07:49 AM
Awesomeness. Won't have time to check this out until Sunday, but I definitely appreciate the help - don't think I could have figured it out on my own, so I hope your way works. I'm using Sonar LE, hopefully it's not too different from Sonar 6 when it comes to the things you mentioned.